“Gifts of Imperfection” Brene Brown E-Course Lesson 4 & 5 Continuing The Journey

Well as the weeks have gone by I have found myself going through a creative transformation. While I’m practicing authenticity and cultivating gratitude I have been faced with something else…Creative Block.

I’m a part of a smaller Facebook group ( approx. 365 members). The common discussion is that most of us started to fall behind. We all have different reasons for not checking in and completing assignments. Some personal, others because of the busy-ness of our lives. What ever the reason I ‘ve come to a very important part of this journey.

Although I believe in the healing aspects of journaling, there is one key thing keeping us from having a productive day. We need to write more. We need to truly journal. Reminiscing over old photographs can stir up some pretty intense emotions. What do we do once we are there, feeling vulnerable? Some of us will close the book, chuck it in the box, linger with it for a while, smile, cry, laugh, share it with others. So we paste it in our journal, draw cute flowers around it, include a sweet quote, and then?

And then…that’s the part we need to work on. Through the teachings of Julia Cameron I’m learning some important tools to get me moving forward after the course is over.

I’m starting a new group. We have 32 members so far. It’s for those of us continuing on this journey after the Brene Brown E-Course is over.

I’ll share these lessons within a 12 week spread. Look for my postings in the coming weeks about moving forward.  In the mean time if I could give you one piece of advice…Write.

Keep a notebook near your bed. When you get up in the morning, grab your journal and write. There doesn’t need to be any rhyme or reason, no editing…. just write. By doing this you clear your mind of all those things weighing you down and it allows you to open your mind to experiencing the full joy of the little things we sometimes take for granted.

Until then…Hugs xo Julissie

3 thoughts on ““Gifts of Imperfection” Brene Brown E-Course Lesson 4 & 5 Continuing The Journey”

  1. Yes, I agree 1000%. When I start feeling weird. Lightheaded, ungrounded, dizzy, or anything like headaches or emotional aspects that I feel I want to run away from….I write. It is the only thing (besides a cry but that usual comes near to the writing if not while writing). It is the only way for me to get the emotion out. Besides painting, but that brings it’s own healing power. I’m so glad our paths have crossed. We get to walk together now. That makes my heart happy. I am very grateful the universe has brought you into my life. 🙂

  2. Ps- I think trying to give a 6 week course on these big ideas, is why people are behind. The emotional unload that comes with each one takes more than a week to process and that’s without kids! It really would feel better if it were one a month. More my pace, but I am doing my best. I actually watched to gratitude video today. I had been taking pictures of the ordinary all week without even knowing ! I was just practicing using my new camera.

  3. Ah, the morning pages! Funny thing, I just burned my morning pages from 2001. A very turbulent year in my family life and I decided I didn’t want anyone to read them. Very cathartic. It is a wonderful practice, to both write it out and move it along.

Leave a Reply

